What Up With That?

Some of you might be thinking Kate, why is your blog titled after a Jonas Brothers’ song? Couldn’t you have come up with something better? Do you have some mad obsession with Nick Jonas?

My answers:

-Well, the song has a lot of meaning to how I think about my diabetes.

-How can my blog name even compare to such cool blog names as: Texting My Pancreas, The Butter Compartment, or Moments of Wonderful?

-No, but I do appreciate his advocacy work for Type 1 Diabetes.

I remember when this song first came out. It was a pretty big deal for a young current celebrity to be diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes, and a huge win for the advocacy world, as well.

While the lyrics are pretty simple, they hit home a few great points.

“A little bit longer”

The day of my T1D diagnosis, my doctor described what I now know is an insulin pump, and said researchers were on the verge of a cure. He said cure was only about 5 years away.

Well, it’s been a little bit longer. In fact, it’s been 10 years since I first heard those words! Since then, I have heard countless estimates of how close every researcher and their mother is to a cure. While I haven’t lost hope in a cure, I’m just to the point where “I’ll believe it when I see it.”

“A little bit longer” also describes how diabetes manifests itself in my life. I am constantly waiting on diabetes. My friends are waiting on me because I am in the bathroom for the hundredth time today. My parents are waiting on me because I am double-checking that I have all my diabetes crap (supplies) for the day.

“I’ll be fine,” but I just have to wait for this insulin to kick in and lower my blood sugar. “I’ll be fine,” but I just have to wait for this juice to bring up my low.

 

So I’ll wait ’til kingdom come

All the highs and lows are gone

A little bit longer and I’ll be fine

I’ll be fine

 

Exactly.

If diabetes is never cured during my lifetime, I’ll be fine. I have the hope of heaven with the Great Physician who has already cured diabetes.

So a little bit longer and I’ll be fine.

 

Leave a Reply

